Winners announced for Premier’s Book Awards

Congratulations to Yvette Walker, a Words with Wine past author (October 2013) cover

Press statement:

  • Richard Flanagan wins Premier’s Prize for The Narrow Road to the Deep North
  • Yvette Walker wins WA Emerging Writers Award for Letters to the End of Love
  • Tim Winton wins People’s Choice Award for Eyrie

Premier Colin Barnett announced Richard Flanagan as the winner of the Premier’s Prize at the Premier’s Book Awards last night for his work The Narrow Road to the Deep North. 

Mount Lawley-based novelist Yvette Walker received the Western Australian Emerging Writers Award for her first book, Letters to the End of Love.

Mr Barnett said 11 of Australia’s top authors and two illustrators were recognised in this year’s awards. The winners will share $130,000 in prize money. 

“The Premier’s Book Awards recognise literary excellence and I would like to congratulate all of this year’s winners,” he said.

“Literature is an important element of a culturally rich society.  Reading and understanding the written word is not only empowering, it can be life changing. These awards help to encourage more West Australians to pick up a book.

“Each year the awards receive hundreds of entries from authors across Australia and this year was no different.  I am thrilled that two of the world’s finest literary talents, Richard Flanagan and Tim Winton, have been recognised in this year’s awards.”

Culture and the Arts Minister John Day said the inaugural Western Australian Emerging Writers category received 14 entrants, testament to the abundance of talent in the State.

“I would like to congratulate first-time published author, Yvette Walker, who was selected from a strong list of Western Australian writers for her book about love and loss,” Mr Day said.

This year the Western Australian public voted Tim Winton’s Eyrie as their favourite nominated work and winner of the People’s Choice Award sponsored by The West Australian.

       Fact File

  • The awards are co-ordinated by the State Library of Western Australia
  • Winners share in a prize pool of $130,000 
  • More information at

Culture and the Arts Minister’s office – 6552 6200


2014 Category Winners:

Children’s Books (jointly awarded)                

Light Horse Boy by Dianne Wolfer (Albany, WA)

Illustrator: Brian Simmonds (Duncraig, WA)

The Swap by Jan Ormerod (VIC)

Illustrator: Andrew Joyner (SA)

Digital Narrative                     



The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan (TAS)


Boy, Lost: A Family Memoir by Kristina Olsson (QLD)


Six Different Windows by Paul Hetherington (ACT)


The Bull, the Moon and the Coronet of Stars by Van Badham (NSW)

Western Australian History Award

Kerry Stokes: Self-Made Man by Margaret Simons (VIC)

Western Australian Emerging Writers Award            

Letters to the End of Love by Yvette Walker (Mount Lawley, WA)

Writing for Young Adults        

Alex As Well by Alyssa Brugman (NSW)                            

Premier’s Prize                       

The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan (TAS)                                                                     

People’s Choice Award presented by The West Australian  

Eyrie by Tim Winton (WA)


Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: