Avid Readers

Special guest post from Cherie.

Have you ever wondered just how avid readers keep track of what they’ve read? After reading more books than I would care to count over the years I have developed a system that works for me and I’d like to share it with you. It’s simple and can work for the computer literate or the not so computer savvy.

I started originally with a spiral bound notebook but that soon didn’t have enough room as I read so much, so I moved to creating a file on my computer called Authors. In there I have a word document for each author and a table with 2 columns. In the right hand column I list all the author’s books by series & in the left column is where I note which ones I’ve read by putting a Webdings (Microsoft font) character in the corresponding line. I like the pictures in Webdings, they’re cool. Have a play with them if you break it – that’s what the undo button is for.

Yes, this does take time to set up but once you’ve done it, it is so easy to keep up to date. Periodically checking the State Library database http://www.liswa.wa.gov.au by author and then sequencing by publication date is the best way to keep on top of the new books.

I don’t know how many times I’ve settled myself into a totally comfy spot to sit and read a book I’ve brought home only to find I’ve already read it. So I developed this system. Yes I still try to read something I’ve already read again as I forget to mark it off but it doesn’t happen very often anymore, and my cat is happier for it. He does hate getting booted off a perfectly comfy lap when I need to go get something else to read!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

